Coffee Break in Charleston

One of my favorite things to do before I started working a regular 9-5 was visit coffee shops where I could study or just read a book. Charleston has a lot of coffee shops and by no means is this a list that includes all of them or even the “best” ones. I simply thought I’d share my favorite ones that I have tried and that I have visited regularly because of how good they are.

My favorite coffee shop in Charleston (and maybe anywhere) is Brown’s Court Bakery. I lived across from Brown’s Court for my first year of law school, and I developed a slight obsession. They have wonderful lattes and their baked goods are out of this world. It’s in an old Charleston two-story house and there is seating on the second floor, as well as on the porch. I spent many days studying there. Their bread is also featured at many of the restaurants around town. Brown’s Court is located at 199 Saint Phillip Street. http://brownscourt.com/

The second coffee shop on this list is not your typical “coffee shop”. I am including Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts for several reasons. When I was in law school, Glazed was the only place I could stop quickly and get a simple cup of coffee that didn’t cost $3-$4 on my way to one of my classes. They have good brewed coffee and they have specialty drinks as well if you’ve got time for one. It doesn’t hurt that they have some of the best doughnuts I have ever tasted. It’s tempting to go in and not get a doughnut also, but if it hadn’t been for Glazed I would have had to sit through some lectures without coffee(HORROR). Glazed is located at 481 King Street. http://glazedgourmet.com/

Kudu Coffee and Craft Beer is a beloved coffee shop for most Charlestonians. The baristas are great at designs in lattes (for those that love to take the cute pictures of their designs), and most importantly the coffee is good. It’s strong (necessary) and there is a lot to choose from. Most importantly, they also serve beer and have a great wine selection. As if they needed any more recognition that they are a great place, Jamie Lee Curtis has been spotted there several times while filming the newest “Halloween” movie. Kudu is located at 4 Vanderhorst Street right off of King Street. http://kuducoffeeandcraftbeer.com/

Black Tap Coffee is the last place on my list. I have only visited here one time with a friend a few months back. She recommended it, and I absolutely loved it. The atmosphere is great, and the latte is even better. They have their own coffee brand that they source from all over the world. The shop is located in Charleston’s historic Harleston Village neighborhood. http://www.blacktapcoffee.com/

I am positive that there are more great coffee shops in Charleston that I could make a list about, but I only felt comfortable commenting on the ones that I have been to. Please shoot me some suggestions of places I need to try!

Published by Charleston Book Girl

Attorney Writer Bookstagrammer Serial killer enthusiast

One thought on “Coffee Break in Charleston

Leave a comment